Best of Greenwich 2016

AND THE GREENWICH WINNERS ARE…

By Jamie Marshall

Fairfield County is packed with fabulous finds that are worth a quick trip no matter which town you call home. That’s why for the twelfth year we present the Best of the Gold Coast Connecticut, highlighting hundreds of winners chosen by you, the readers of our magazines. But there’s a ton to celebrate in our town alone. So why not give you the best of both worlds and showcase who you consider tops right in your own backyard? Here, the winners who garnered the most votes in Greenwich alone. We may be a small town but boy, do we have a lot going on!


CUISINE

NEW RESTAURANT
The National, 376 Greenwich Ave., 203-861-6851; thenational-ct.com

AMERICAN + HAPPY HOUR + PUB
Little Pub, 531 East Putnam Ave., 203-717-1147; littlepub.com

SEAFOOD
Elm Street Oyster House, 11 West Elm St., 203-629-5795; elmstreetoysterhouse.com

STEAKS + WINE LIST + RESTAURANT BAR + BEST SERVICE
Gabriele’s Italian Steakhouse, 35 Church St., 203-622-4223; gabrielesofgreenwich.com

CREATIVE MENU
Le Fat Poodle, 20 Arcadia Rd., 203-717-1515; lefatpoodle.com

SPECIAL OCCASION + WINE BAR
Harvest Wine Bar & Restaurant, 372 Greenwich Ave., 203-869-4080; harvestwinebar.com

OUTDOOR DINING + HOTEL RESTAURANT + OUTDOOR BAR + SINGLES SCENE (OVER 35)
l’escale, 500 Steamboat Rd., 203-661-4600; lescalerestaurant.com

HEALTH FOOD + VEGETARIAN + JUICE BAR
Green & Tonic, 7 Strickland Rd., 203-869-1376; 85 Railroad Ave., 203-622-1479; greenandtonic.com

LUNCH + CAFE/BISTRO
Méli-Mélo, 362 Greenwich Ave., 203-629-6153; melimelogreenwich.com

WEEKEND BRUNCH
Hyatt Regency, 1800 East Putnam Ave., 203-637-1234; greenwich.regency.hyatt.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



GLOBAL CUISINE

ITALIAN
Polpo, 554 Old Post Rd., 203-629-1999; polporestaurant.com

FRENCH
Le Penguin, 61 Lewis St., 203-717-1200; lepenguinbistro.com

MEDITERRANEAN
Mediterraneo, 366 Greenwich Ave., 203-629-4747; zhospitalitygroup.com

INDIAN
Mumbai Times, 140 East Putnam Ave., 203-625-5500; mumbaitimesct.com

GREEK
Famous Greek Kitchen, 10 North Water St., 203-531-6887; famousgreekkitchen.com

MEXICAN + MARGARITAS
Boxcar Cantina, 44 Old Field Point Rd., 203-661-4774; boxcarcantina.com

JAPANESE
Abis, 381 Greenwich Ave., 203-862-9100; abisjapanesetraditionalrestaurant.com

CHINESE
Penang Grill, 55 Lewis St., 203-861-1988

SUSHI
Asiana Cafe, 130 East Putnam Ave., 203-622-6833; asianacafe.com

ASIAN FUSION
Tengda Asian Bistro, 21 Field Point Rd., 203-625-5338; tengdaasianbistrogroup.com

THAI
Little Thai Kitchen, 21 St. Roch Ave., 203-622-2972; littlethaigreenwich.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



CASUAL

BREAKFAST
Bistro V, 339 Greenwich Ave., 203-661-6634; versaillesgreenwich.com

COFFEE SHOP
CFCF Roastery, 118 Greenwich Ave., 203-661-8300

BAGELS
Upper Crust Bagel Company, 197 Sound Beach Ave., 203-698-0079; uppercrustbagel.com

HAMBURGER
Burgers, Shakes & Fries, 302 Delavan Ave., 203-531-7433; burgersshakesnfries.com

HOT DOGS
Joey B’s Famous Chili Hub, 118 River Rd. Ext., 203-661-0573

PIZZA
Planet Pizza, 28 Railroad Ave., 203-622-0999; planetpizzaofgreenwich.com

RIBS/BARBECUE
Bobby Q’s Pit Stop, 1340 East Putnam Ave., 203-990-0606; bobbyqspitstop.com

FAMILY-FRIENDLY RESTAURANT
Abis, 381 Greenwich Ave., 203-862-9100; abisjapanesetraditionalrestaurant.com

DINER
Glory Days, 69 East Putnam Ave., 203-661-9067; glorydaysdiner.com

DELI
Corbo’s Corner Deli, 1380 East Putnam Ave., 203-354-4675; 470 West Putnam Ave., 203-629-4987; corbosdeli.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



SWEETS

ICE CREAM
Gofer Ice Cream, 522 East Putnam Ave., 203-661-9080; gofericecream.com

FROZEN YOGURT
Pinkberry, 369 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-1782; pinkberry.com

DESSERTS + BAKERY + CUPCAKES + WEDDING CAKES
DiMare Pastry Shop, 1245 Post Rd., 203-637-4781; dimarepastry.com

CANDY STORE + CHOCOLATE SHOP
Darlene’s Heavenly Desires, 185 Sound Beach Ave., 203-698-9441; darlenesstore.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



MARKETS

GOURMET GROCERY
Citarella Gourmet Market, 600 West Putnam Ave., 203-861-6900; citarella.com

FISH MARKET
Fjord Fish Market, 158 East Putnam Ave., 203-661-5006; fjordct.com

GOURMET TO GO
Aux Delices, 3 W. Elm St., 203-622-6644; 1075 E. Putnam Ave., 203-698-1066; auxdelicesfoods.com

CATERER
Watson’s Catering, 1 Glenville St., 203-532-0132; watsonscatering.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



BARS

MARTINIS
JHouse Restaurant, 1114 East Putnam Ave., 203-698-6980; jhousegreenwich.com

BEER SELECTION + SPECIALTY BEER + SINGLES SCENE (UNDER 35)
The Ginger Man, 64 Greenwich Ave., 203-861-6400; gingermangreenwich.com

MARGARITAS + MEXICAN
Boxcar Cantina, 44 Old Field Point Rd., 203-661-4774; boxcarcantina.com

WINE BAR + SPECIAL OCCASION
Harvest Wine Bar & Restaurant, 372 Greenwich Ave., 203-869-4080; harvestwinebar.com

OUTDOOR BAR + SINGLES SCENE (OVER 35) + OUTDOOR DINING + HOTEL RESTAURANT
l’escale, 500 Steamboat Rd., 203-661-4600; lescalerestaurant.com

SPORTS BAR
Sundown Saloon, 403 Greenwich Ave., 203-629-8212; sundownsaloon.com

HAPPY HOUR + PUB + AMERICAN
Little Pub, 531 East Putnam Ave., 203-717-1147; littlepub.com

RESTAURANT BAR + WINE LIST + STEAKS + BEST SERVICE
Gabriele’s Italian Steakhouse, 35 Church St., 203-622-4223; gabrielesofgreenwich.com

LIQUOR STORE + WINE SHOP
Val’s Putnam, Wines & Liquors, 125 West Putnam Ave., 203-869-2299; 21 Glenville St., 203-813-3477; valsputnamwines.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



HOME

HOME ACCESSORIES BOUTIQUE + COSTUME JEWELRY
Splurge, 39 Lewis St., 203-869-7600; splurgegifts.com

LINENS
Lynnens, 278 Greenwich Ave., 203-629-3659; lynnens.com

TRADITIONAL FURNITURE
Restoration Hardware, 310 Greenwich Ave., 203-552-1040; restorationhardware.com

CONTEMPORARY FURNISHINGS
Jonathan Adler, 88 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-1476; jonathanadler.com

ART GALLERY
Cavalier Gallery, 405 Greenwich Ave., 203-869-3664; cavaliergalleries.com

CHINA/TABLETOP + WEDDING GIFTS + WEDDING REGISTRY
Hoagland’s of Greenwich, 175 Greenwich Ave., 203-869-2127; hoaglands.com

ANTIQUES/VINTAGE STORE
Estate Treasures, 1162 East Putnam Ave., 203-637-4200; estatetreasures.com

OUTDOOR FURNITURE
Patio.com, 600 East Putnam Ave., 203-869-3084; patio.com

LUXURY IMPORTS
The Drawing Room, 220 East Putnam Ave., 203-661-3737; thedrawingroomhome.com

APPLIANCES
Partridge & Rockwell, 85 Pemberwick Rd., 203-622-8675; partridgeappliances.com

FLORIST + WEDDING FLORAL DESIGNER
McArdle’s Florist & Garden Center, 48 Arch St., 203-661-5600 mcardles.com

GARDEN CENTER
Sam Bridge Nursery & Greenhouses, 437 North St., 203-869-3418; sambridgegardencenter.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



FITNESS

WATER SPORTS
Greenwich Water Club, 49 River Rd., 203-661-4033; greenwichwaterclub.com

PILATES
Core Pilates, 6 West Putnam Ave., 203-914-4433; 146 Sound Beach Ave., 203-344-1844; corepilatesstudios.com

YOGA STUDIO
Be Shri Yoga, 1345 East Putnam Ave., 203-990-0622; beshriyoga.com

SPINNING CLASSES
SoulCycle, 266 Mason St., 203-653-7685; soul-cycle.com

FITNESS CLUB
Equinox, 16 Old Track Rd., 203-863-0070; equinox.com

DANCE STUDIO
Arthur Murray, 6 Lewis St., 203-769-1800; arthurmurraygreenwich.com

FITNESS STUDIO
Division 1 Prep, 200 N. Pemberwick Rd., 203-489-3300; division1prep.com

FITNESS GEAR/CLOTHING
Lululemon Athletica, 151 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-5046; lululemon.com

KIDS’ FITNESS
Jack Rabbits Gymnastics Club, 397 Round Hill Rd., 203-622-0004; jackrabbitsgym.com

BICYCLE SHOP
Dave’s Cycle, 78 Valley Rd., 203-661-7736; davescyclect.com

GOLF EQUIPMENT
Griffith E. Harris Golf Course, 1323 King St., 203-531-7200; thegriffgolf.org

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



ENTERTAINMENT

LOCAL HOTEL + WEDDING RECEPTION SITE
Delamar Greenwich Harbor, 500 Steamboat Rd., 203-661-9800; delamargreenwich.com

LIVE MUSIC SPOT
Beach House Cafe, 220 Sound Beach Ave., 203-637-0367; beachhousecafe.com

LOCAL BAND ROCK + COVER
The Short Bus, theshortbusrocks.com

PERFORMING ARTS
The Greenwich Symphony Orchestra, 10 Hillside Rd., 203-869-2664; greenwichsymphony.org

RADIO STATION/AM
WGCH 1490 AM, 71 Lewis St., 203-869-1490; wgch.com

RADIO STATION/PERSONALITY
Tony Savino–WGCH, 71 Lewis St., 203-869-1490; wgch.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



FAMILY LIFE

BABY STORE
Giggle, 102 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-6775; giggle.com

CHILDREN’S CLOTHES
Janie and Jack, 107 Greenwich Ave., 203-422-5080; janieandjack.com

PLACE FOR KIDS’ PARTIES
Audubon Greenwich, 613 Riversville Rd., 203-869-5272; greenwich.audubon.org

TOY STORE
Smart Kids’ Toys, 17 East Elm St., 203-869-0022; sktoys.com

NANNY & BABYSITTING SERVICES
Sterling Care, 235 Glenville Rd., 203-532-0500; sterlingcare.com

PET SUPPLIES + PET CLOTHING
Pet Pantry Warehouse, 290 Railroad Ave., 203-869-6444; ppwpet.com

DOG GROOMER/PET SPA
Groomer Has It, 80 Valley Rd., 203-629-3649

VETERINARIAN
Greenwich Animal Hospital, 430 West Putnam Ave., 203-869-0534; greenwichanimalhospital.com

AUTO REPAIR
Zelenz Brothers Auto Body, 37 Sherwood Pl., 203-869-1414

CAR WASH
Splash Car Wash, 73 East Putnam Ave., 203-625-0809; 625 W. Putnam Ave., 203-531-4497; splashcarwashes.com

LIVERY SERVICE
Rudy’s Executive Transportation, 209 Bruce Park Ave., 203-609-8000; rudylimo.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



EDUCATION

COLLEGE PREP
Carnegie Pollak, 136 Old Stone Bridge Rd., 203-352-3500; carnegiepollak.com

MUSIC LESSONS
Riverside School of Music, 401 East Putnam Ave., 203-661-9501; atelierconstantinpopescu.com

ART CLASSES
Action Art School, 242 Sound Beach Ave., 203-637-2685; actionartschool.com

MUSEUM + MUSEUM FOR CHILDREN
Bruce Museum of Arts & Science, 1 Museum Dr., 203-869-0376; brucemuseum.org

BOOKSTORE
Diane’s Books, 8A Grigg St., 203-869-1515; dianesbooks.com

COOKING CLASSES
Aux Délices, 3 West Elm St., 203-622-6644; 1075 East Putnam Ave., 203-698-1066; auxdelicesfoods.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



FASHION & JEWELRY

DEPARTMENT STORE + WOMEN’S FASHION + COCKTAIL ATTIRE + WOMEN’S SHOES + ACCESSORIES
Saks Fifth Avenue, 205 Greenwich Ave., 203-862-5300; saksfifthavenue.com/greenwich

BLACK TIE ATTIRE + MEN’S FASHION + MEN’S SHOES + TUXEDOS
Richards, 359 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-0551; mitchellstores.com

DESIGNER BOUTIQUE + BRIDAL GOWNS + BRIDESMAID DRESS BOUTIQUE
Marietta C. Designs, 436 East Putnam Ave., 203-661-2171; mariettac.com

CONSIGNMENT
Second Time Around, 10 Greenwich Ave., 203-422-2808; 2ndtimearound.com

LINGERIE
Patricia Gourlay, 45 East Putnam Ave., 203-869-0977; pgourlay.com

EYEWEAR
Sunglass Hut, 260 Greenwich Ave., 203-629-7907; sunglasshut.com

SWIMWEAR
Everything, But Water, 84 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-1878; everythingbutwater.com

TEEN FASHION
Free People, 351 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-0127; freepeople.com

TAILOR
Ted the Tailor, 2 Church St., 203-869-5699

JEANS
Lucky Brand, 244 Greenwich Ave., 203-861-4039; luckybrand.com

COSTUME JEWELRY + HOME ACCESSORIES BOUTIQUE
Splurge, 39 Lewis St., 203-869-7600; splurgegifts.com

LOCAL JEWELRY BOUTIQUE + DESIGNER JEWELRY + WOMEN’S WATCHES + ESTATE JEWELRY + WEDDING RINGS
Betteridge, 239 Greenwich Ave., 203-869-0124; betteridge.com

MEN’S WATCHES
Manfredi Jewels, 121 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-1414; manfredijewels.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »



BEAUTY & BRIDAL

MAKEUP ARTIST
Elena of Christopher Noland Salon, 124 Greenwich Ave., 203-622-4247; christophernoland.com

COSMETICS STORE
Sephora, 75 Greenwich Ave., 203-422-2191; sephora.com

WOMEN’S SALON + COLORIST
Color Cafe, 23 Benedict Pl., 203-769-1929; colorcafestudio.com

BLOW OUT
Jaafar Tazi, 149 Greenwich Ave., 203-340-2525; jaafartazi.com

MEN’S SALON
Generations Barber Parlor, 3 Boulder Ave., 203-637-8266; 138 Hamilton Ave., 203-413-2344; generations1929.com

DAY SPA + FACIAL + WAXING
Dream Spa & Salon, 151 Greenwich Ave., 203-629-2525; dreamdayspa.com

MASSAGE
Massage Mavens, 59 Le Grande Ave., 203-340-2518; massagemavens.com

MANICURE + PEDICURE
Tip Top Nails, 1 Havemeyer Ln., 203-698-3320

WEDDING FLORAL DESIGNER + FLORIST
McArdle’s Florist & Garden Center, 48 Arch St., 203-661-5600; mcardles.com

BRIDAL GOWNS + BRIDESMAID DRESS BOUTIQUE
Marietta C Designs, 436 East Putnam Ave., 203-661-2171; mariettac.com

WEDDING RECEPTION SITE + LOCAL HOTEL
Delamar Greenwich Harbor, 500 Steamboat Rd., 203-661-9800; delamargreenwich.com
l’escale, 500 Steamboat Rd., 203-661-4600; lescalerestaurant.com

WEDDING RINGS + LOCAL JEWELRY BOUTIQUE + DESIGNER JEWELRY + WOMEN’S WATCHES + ESTATE JEWELRY
Betteridge, 239 Greenwich Ave., 203-869-0124; betteridge.com

DESSERTS + BAKERY + CUPCAKES + WEDDING CAKES
DiMare Pastry Shop, 1245 Post Rd., 203-637-4781; dimarepastry.com

WEDDING INVITATIONS
Saint Clair Stationers, 96 Greenwich Ave., 203-661-2927; theresesaintclair.com

WEDDING GIFTS + WEDDING REGISTRY + CHINA/TABLETOP
Hoagland’s of Greenwich, 175 Greenwich Ave., 203-869-2127; hoaglands.com

WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHER
Bob Capazzo, 203-273-0139; bcapazzo.smugmug.com

WEDDING PLANNER
Ashley Douglass Events, 917-748-6281; ashleydouglassevents.com

WEDDING DJ/LIVE MUSIC
Richie Vance Productions, 203-249-9359; richievance.com

 

Buy your tickets to the Best Of Greenwich party »